NBA Awards 2019: Full List of Winners

NBA Awards 2019: Full List of Winners

NBA Most Valuable Player: Giannis Antetokounmpo

Image result for giannis

The Greek Freak took home the coveted trophy at the NBA awards show, edging over Paul George and James Harden who were the other two nominees.

Antetokounmpo averaged 27.7 points, 12.5 rebounds and 5.9 assists this season. He shot 57.8% from the field with 1.5 blocks per game.

Giannis Antetokounmpo is the second Bucks player to win the NBA MVP award, joining the legendary Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, who won it three times. Antetokounmpo is the third-youngest player to win MVP over the past 40 seasons, trailing only Derrick Rose and LeBron James.

Defensive Player of the Year: Rudy Gobert

Image result for rudy gobert

Rudy Gobert is the first player to win Defensive Player of the Year in consecutive seasons since Kawhi Leonard in 2014-15 and 2015-16. Before that, it was Dwight Howard in three straight seasons from 2008 to 2011. The Frenchman averaged 15.9 points, 12.9 rebounds, 2 assists and 2.3 blocks per game.

The other finalists are Paul George and Giannis Antetokounmpo.

Coach of the Year: Mike Budenholzer
Image result for mike budenholzer
In the 2018-19 season, Mike Budenholzer became the seventh head coach in NBA history to win at least 60 games in a season with multiple franchises, joining Pat Riley (three times), Phil Jackson, K.C. Jones, Mike D’Antoni, Don Nelson and Rick Adelman.
Michael Malone from the Denver Nuggets and Doc Rivers of the LA Clippers are the other two nominees.
Sixth Man of the Year: Lou Williams
Image result for lou williams
No surprises here for this award. Lou Williams is the second player to win Sixth Man of the Year three times, joining Jamal Crawford. The other two nominees are Montrezl Harrell also from the Clippers and Domantas Sabonis from the Indiana Pacers.
Most Improved Player: Pascal Siakam
Image result for pascal siakam
Pascal Siakam increased his points-per-game average by 9.7 points in 2018-19, most by any player to play at least 40 games in each season. He averaged 16.9 points, 6.9 rebounds and 3.1 assists.
The other nominees are D’Angelo Russell from Brooklyn Nets and De’Aaron Fox from the Sacramento Kings.
Rookie of the Year: Luka Doncic
Image result for luka doncic
Doncic’s award was handed to him 30 games into the season. He becomes the second Mavericks player in franchise history to win Rookie of the Year, joining Jason Kidd, who shared the award with Grant Hill in 1994-95. Doncic was the fifth rookie to average 20+ points, 5+ assists and 5+ rebounds in a season — all five won the ROY award. Trae Young and DeAndre Ayton were the other two rookies to be nominated.
Leave a comment

Send a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *